October 1, 2015
Heritage Winnipeg's Millennium Legacy Fundraising Reception Tickets
Celebrating the contributions of David McDowell to the heritage community.
Thursday, December 3, 2015 5:30pm - 8:00pm in the Millennium Centre's Celebration Hall, 389 Main Street
Cocktails at 5:30pm, Presentation at 6:30pm
Raffle prize, Entertainment, Hot Hors D'oeuvres
Sponsorships available. Event Patrons (promo recognition) with donations of $50 or more.
Tax receipt provided.
Purchase your tickets before November 3, 2015 and be entered to win a copy of your choice of Armstrong's Point: A History by Randy Rostecki or Imagining Winnipeg: History Through the Photographs of L.B. Foote by Esyllt W. Jones. Each ticket purchased will be eligible for one entry in the draw.
Tickets can be purchased in our Online Store HERE.
September 10, 2015
Century-old Osborne Village home could be bulldozed for development (CTV News September 15, 2015)
End of the line looms for historic Dennistoun House (Winnipeg Free Press September 8, 2015)
"Residents wishing to ask questions or register objections can attend the meeting at 6pm at City Hall on Sept. 16"
Robert Maxwell Dennistoun was a specialist in corporate law and came to Winnipeg in 1907 to represent several influential corporations. He drew up Manitoba’s first workman’s compensation act. In addition to a respected career as a lawyer and judge, Dennistoun kept a parallel military career.
The Honorable Robert Maxwell Dennistoun commissioned prominent architect John Atchinson to design a house for his family in 1908 at 166 Roslyn Road in the Osborne Village area of Winnipeg. Atchinson had designed a large number of prominent Winnipeg buildings by that time. He designed Dennistoun house in Tudor style, commonly used for upper-class residences between 1890 and 1940 in North America.
Distinguishing features of the Tudor style are:
- Steep-pitched roof on cross gable
- Decorative half timbering with an infill of stucco
- Portions of the walls finished in brick veneer
- Elaborate gothic arched entranceway with quoins of stone
- Doors and side transoms are glazed with leaded glass in small panes
Winnipeg declared Dennistoun House a grade 3 historic building on its Buildings Conservation List in 1984 due to its architectural significance and integrity. It was also placed on the list based on the historical interest surrounding the man who erected it and its importance of the surrounding area, which during the early 1900’s became the district of stately banker’s homes.
In 1977 the house was bought and converted into a five-unit rental property.
When this owner passed in 2006 the heirs decided they were no longer operating this building as a rental property. A development team on behalf of the owners applied to the city for the delisting of the Dennistoun House.
The City’s Historical Buildings Committee inspected Dennistoun House and concluded it was a good example of the Tudor style designed by Mr. Atchinson and the heritage values of the house had not changed since its listing in 1984. The HBC recommended the Dennistoun House not be delisted.
On June 2 2009, “the Standing Committee did not concur with the recommendation of the HBC and recommended instead that Dennistoun House be removed from the Building Conservation List; that no demolition permits be issued before building permits are issued; and that City officials be authorized to implement the intent of this recommendation”.
The city’s Executive Policy Committee agreed with the Standing Committee.
The matter went to Council on June 24 2009. Council was given all materials generated or considered for the application to delist including:
- HBC’s March 20 2009 letter
- Report dated October 9, 1984
- The Standing Policy Committee and Executive Policy Committee minutes of meetings
- Any presentations given to these committee’s
- Developer’s report that included City’s Planning Property and Development department’s response, a letter from an architect regarding the feasibility of integrating Dennistoun House into the Development and newspaper reports
- Written submissions and petition from a number of citizens
- Delegations for and against the recommendation also addressed City Council in person including Ms. Lukovich of Osborne Village Neighborhood Association and the Executive Director of Heritage Winnipeg who were against the recommendation
City Council was made aware of the “impact its decision may have on the neighborhood, and from a policy or precedent standpoint” as well as the Osborne Village Plan.
City Council decided by a majority vote to concur with the recommendation made by the Standing Policy Committee and agreed to by the Executive Policy Committee, to remove Dennistoun House from the Buildings Conservation List. This decision enables the historic homes potential for demolition and replacement with a condominium complex.
Members of the Osborne Village Neighborhood Association with the support of Heritage Winnipeg sought a judicial review for an order to quash the decision made by city council.
A strong argument was made in regards to the heritage element of the Osborne Village Plan on demolition of historic buildings:
7.1.6.A Discourage the demolition of historic or architecturally significant buildings or structures. Demolition shall be considered as a last resort, and should only be considered when buildings are determined to be structurally unsound beyond repair by an independent structural engineering report. Economic viability should not be the sole determining factor;
7.1.6.B Prior to consideration of a proposal for the demolition of a historic building or structure, a formal independent consultant’s report on the physical condition and economic viability of retaining the building should be prepared for review by the City. The consultant’s report is to be carried out at the expense of the applicant.
In July 2010 The Judge found that the “requirements of section 7.1.6 of the Osborne Village Plan were not mandatory but rather permissive and intended to be subjectively assessed by City Council” in making their opinion. He also found City Councils decision to delist to be “consistent” with both Plan Winnipeg and the Osborne Village Plan. Furthermore he found that City Council acted within its jurisdiction in removing Dennistoun House from the list and dismissed the application.
For further information on either the Judge’s decision or the Historical Report please click on the links below.
August 1, 2015
June 25, 2015
The Doors Open Winnipeg 2015 award statues, created by Jordan Van Sewell, Heritage Winnipeg President
Doors Open Winnipeg 2015 was our most successful event yet!
The awards component of Doors Open Winnipeg continues to be the only one of its kind in Canada and provides an opportunity and incentive for owners and volunteers to step up their enthusiasm and put on the best event they can.
Visitors have the chance to vote for their favourite buildings and winners will receive a spectacular award, created by a local artist, at a media event held in June. Votes are collected for the following categories: Best Restoration, Best Architecture, Best Guided Tour/Programming, The 'Hidden Gem', and Best Overall Experience. This year, for first time ever, visitors could vote using an online survey powered by Survey Monkey, which closed Friday, June 5, 2015.
Best Restoration: Dalnavert Museum at 61 Carlton Street
Runner Up: Metropolitan Entertainment Centre at 281 Donald Street
Dalnavert Museum at 61 Carlton Street is the restored home of Sir Hugh John Macdonald, son of Sir John A. Macdonald and Premier of Manitoba from 1899-1900. In 1970, the home was purchased by the Manitoba Historical Society and restored to its 1895 appearance. Long considered one of the finest examples of restored Queen Anne Revival Architecture in Canada, Dalnavert offers visitors the opportunity to step back in time to Canada’s youth.
(L-R): Rina Ricci, City Heritage Planner; Brock Capell, Friends of Dalnavert Museum; John Kiernan, City Manager of Urban Design.
Best Architecture: Holy Eucharist Ukrainian Catholic Church at 505 Watt Street
Runner Up: Manitoba Legislative Building at 450 Broadway
This was the first year that the Holy Eucharist participated in Doors Open Winnipeg, hosting nearly 500 visitors over the weekend! A valuable and beautiful addition to our Doors Open event, we are pleased to offer such a unique architectural gem in East Kildonan and we hope to include them again next year!
Father Michael Kwiatkowski says a few words, emphasizing the efforts of the church's congregation in making Doors Open happen this year. This was the first time the Holy Eucharist was part of Doors Open Winnipeg.
Best Guided Tour/Programming: The Vaughan Street Jail at 444 York AvenueRunner Up: Ukrainian Catholic Metropolitan Cathedral of Sts. Vladimir & Olga
Vaughan Street Jail at 444 York Avenue.
The former Vaughan Street Detention Centre, now known as the Vaughan Street Jail at 444 York Avenue was built in 1881 to house inmates serving two years or less sent from Western Ontario and the Prairie Provinces. It is the oldest provincially owned building still standing within the City limits. There are significant local and Canadian historical figures connected to this building, including such figures as Bloody Jack Krafchencko and Earl Nelson, Winnipeg's first serial killer. However, unfortunately, this building still does not have any heritage designation or protection.
Heritage Winnipeg Board Member, Greg Agnew, gives a short history of the building before presenting the award.
This Doors Open site boasted the most site visits with nearly 3500 visitors over the weekend. With theatrical performances and historic costumes the volunteers once again put on a fantastic tour! Prior to 2013, the building had been closed to Doors Open for 6 years – we hope to be able to continue to feature this building in our event. This building’s popularity just continues to grow and, as an architectural landmark to social and judicial history, is very important to our city’s history.
Kristen Verin-Treusch, Friends of Vaughan Street Jail, accepts the award.
The 'Hidden Gem': The Historical Museum of St. James-Assiniboia at 3180 Portage Avenue
Runner Up: La Maison Gabrielle-Roy at 375 rue Deschambault
The Historical Museum of St. James-Assiniboia located at 3180 Portage Avenue is a museum that strongly reflects the history of its community. There are three buildings on the property for visitors to explore, including the William Brown Red River Frame House circa 1856 and the old Municipal Government Hall, built in 1911, which now houses displays about the development of St. James-Assiniboia as well as an interpretive centre showcasing pioneer life in the late 19th century.
A long-standing participant in Doors Open Winnipeg, the Historical Museum of St. James-Assiniboia is one of many incredible museum experiences that the city of Winnipeg has to offer. Truly an historical asset to the Doors Open event, we are very pleased with their continued participation.
Best Overall Experience (tied): Ghost Signs Walking Tour (Exchange District)
The creation of Matt Cohen from the Advertising Association of Manitoba, the Ghost Signs Walking Tour was a new addition to Doors Open this year. Focusing on the Exchange District, the tour sought out and explored the histories of the fading promotional signage and the companies that called these warehouses home. The 90-minute tour allowed participants to travel back in time and get to know the businesses behind the ads and the impact they played in shaping the landscape of the district.
The walking tours that were added to Doors Open this year were unique and incredibly well received and will hopefully continue to be a part of this event. There is an opportunity to continue grow these events as their popularity increases.
Best Overall Experience (tied): Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church at 40 Ada Street
Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church at 40 Ada Street
The Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church at 40 Ada Street is the last remaining original, pioneer-built Ukrainian Church of its kind in the city. Owing much of its completion to the labour of volunteers from the Brooklands parish, the exterior of the church was completed in 1932. Finishing touches continued to be added, including the painting of icons and numerous ornamental designs by Jacob Maydanyk in 1940.
Another new addition to Doors Open Winnipeg, this Ukrainian Church is the second to receive an award this year. Although isolated, its rich history makes this church one of Winnipeg’s many historic treasures.
Thank you to everyone who turned out to help celebrate these buildings and we hope to see you all for Doors Open again next year!
All of the award winners and presenters at the Winnipeg Free Press News Cafe 237 McDermot Avenue.
June 5, 2015
For more information about the McBeth House, we wrote a blog post about it last year that can be found here.
If you think you might be able to help them out, you can contact Edna Krosney at firstname.lastname@example.org or 204-953-1536.